Pilgrimage to Babeland

20160115_142520 - Copy

There comes a time, in everyone’s life….when they should go to Babeland. And since I was in the city (NYC) for the day, I figured today was going to be my day! Along the way, I also went to a few other shops, that I will talk about too. So, let’s go!

The first shop I went to was Tic Tac Toe. It was a shop I’d never heard of, but it caught my eye while I was walking to the second shop I visited- the Pink Pussycat Boutique. Tic Tac Toe was not on street level, you had to walk down some steps to get there, and it was surprisingly cramped once I got in. Also surprisingly, Tic Tac Toe doesn’t have its own website! It was obvious once I got in that this shop was more focused on lingerie than sex toys. They had the standard, some glass and metal toys of unknown company, a few Lelos, and a bigger room in the back that was focused on silicone- and other, less body-safe material, dildos. The standard sex shop, but it felt like a comfortable space despite it being so small. Not a bad first go, for not knowing about it till then! The upstairs was closed at the moment, but I believe it only held lingerie.

20160115_140138 - Copy

The second shop I went to was the Pink Pussycat Boutique. Just a few shops down from Tic Tac Toe, I was wondering what this shop would be like. I have….memories (In originally spelt that as momories…I want you guys to see that unintentional pun. See it. Yesss) of my mom taking me here years back, because her friend had dragged her here one time in her youth. Of course, she didn’t tell me what kind of store it was, or let me go in, so it was rather an odd trip, really. Going in, i was wondering what had made THIS store so special that even my mothers’ friend had wanted to come. However, I was struck immediately by how similar this shop was to Tic Tac Toe. they even had the same sign hanging over the “Toy Room” in the back containing mostly dildos….hmm… However, while there was only one woman working at Tic Tac Toe, there were more people at Pink Pussycat, helping out other customers. It had much more open space…but the same types of items, lots of CalEx and Pipedream, and of course the usual Lelo. The Pink Pussycat traded a huge amount of lingerie for a huge amount of novelty products however, things you would expect to see at a bachelorette party. It also doesn’t have a website, or vibrators you could test. It seemed open and friendly, if a little focused on novelties more than sex toys.

20160115_140110 - Copy

And then, there was The Pleasure Chest. Hoooo boy. After coming from Tic Tac Toe and the Pink Pussycat Boutique, I was almost dreading another shop like that. Full of vibrators you could see in almost any other shop, locked behind thick glass cases, and more of a focus on the other products than the toys. I walked in (Noticing the gay pride sticker in the window-Awesome!!) and my jaw almost hit the floor. The shop wasn’t that big, consisting of only one room, but every single shelf had at least one sex toy on it- OUT, not in a case, simply put there for you to pick up and try and test. I probably annoyed the people working there, because I tried out literally every vibrator that was there. The highlight of the day was the Stronic Zwei- It honestly felt so different than anything else I’ve felt. Missed opportunity was the Eroscilator- I can’t believe I forgot to go back and try it! I’m so upset. Also, the Lovelife line was so confusing for me to turn on- the rest I got fairly quickly. The Pleasure Chest was an amazing experience, and I’m so glad I got to go! Unfortunately, I didn’t manage to get a good picture of the storefront.

And finally, the reason I took on such a journey today….-Babeland! Babeland is a woman-run and owned sex shop. It started in Seattle, and now has shops in NYC as well!  Just walking in the door was amazing; you go down a small almost hallway-like area, which opens up into a big room…packed to the brim with every single sex toy you’ve ever heard of, and a lot you haven’t, too. It was so interesting to see the toys I’ve dreamed about in the flesh! The Pure wand was so much smaller than I had though,,,and the Eleven, was gargantuan. The Laya Spot was also a lot slimmer than I had thought. The Jimmyjane Form 2 was almost a miniature! The Fun factory delight was another that surprised me, I thought it would have been bigger too. The people working at Babeland were also the friendliest, talking with me about the different vibrators happily. Also, not getting mad when I knocked the Minna Ola off the shelf by accident, luckily, and thank you. The only thing I regret was not looking more at their wooden toys- they were next to the Njoy products, and I got completely sidetracked.

I also tried to go to Eve’s Garden, but I wasn’t able to find it. It wasn’t until I was already home that I saw that it was on the 12th floor of a building! Next time I’m in the city, I will make it my first priority to go!

Today (1/15/2016) Is a day I will never forget. I loved every single thing about this trip- and I still can’t believe it happened. I want to live every day in Babeland- It made me feel completely comfortable and relaxed, surrounded by sex toys- in short; my kind of heaven. I MAY be a tad overreacting, But it was so nice to be able to feel accepted on something most people see as shameful. I’m so glad I had this opportunity!

 

 

Leave a Reply

